If you are an administrator of a popular (or somewhat popular) and publicly visible Facebook page, then you may have noticed users promoting their own website or FB page in the comments section of your page’s status updates.

self promotion

Some of them are spammers, whose primary purpose is to promote their products, services and affiliate links. While others are normal Facebook users who don’t know a thing about Internet etiquette. Instead of banning these legitimate users, you can permanently hide their self promoting posts. Let’s check out in this post how to do so?

Whenever you see a self promoting comment by a user or a page, then simply click on the cross icon present in the top right corner of the comment:

hide comment

The comment will be permanently hidden from your status update and Facebook will show you this message: Now this is only visible to the person who wrote it and their friends.

hidden comment

The user, who have posted the advertisement, or his friends (people present in his friend list) will never know that you have hidden his comment, unless they use a completely different account OR logs out of Facebook and visit the page/status update again where the comment was posted.

If you want you can delete a comment permanently and can also report it to Facebook, if it’s against community standards. If the user doesn’t stop promoting his website or page, then you can always BAN him permanently.

Users Getting Out of Control?

When spammers and self promoting users gets out of control, then the only option left is to disable the posting ability (text, photos and videos) on your page’s timeline by other users. Follow these steps in order to do so:

1. Login to your page using an administrator account and click on Edit Page at the top. A drop down menu will open and you need to click on Edit settings in it:

edit page settings

Note: Edit settings options is not visible to page’s content creator, moderator, advertiser and insight analyst. It’s only visible to the user whose role is set as page’s Manager.

2. Under Posting Ability on the next page, un-check the box in front of Everyone can post to <page’s name> Timeline and Everyone can add photos and videos to <page’s name> Timeline:

posting ability

3. Click on Save changes button and it’s all done. If you also want to disable replies to comments on your page, then un-check the box in front of Allow replies to comments on my page under Replies and click on Save changes button:

disable reply to comments

Disabling above options will eliminate majority of spammers and self promoters from your page. But if you are also getting private messages from them, then you can also disable the whole messaging feature for your page by un-checking the box in front of Allow people to contact my page privately by showing the message button under Messages:

disable facebook page messaging