As we all know Facebook is one of the biggest social networking websites in the world and most of us specifically join the website to connect with friends and family members, instead of random strangers, stalkers and so called friends! If you are tired of unwanted friend requests on Facebook, then let’s check out in this post how to prevent almost all of them?

Login to your Facebook account using this link and once you are successfully logged in, click on the small arrow present at the top right corner of the screen:

facebook settings

When the drop down menu opens, click on Settings and you will now land on the Settings page of your account. On this page click on Privacy link present in the left sidebar:


You will now start seeing lots of privacy related options under Privacy Settings and Tools. Click on Who can send you friend requests? under Who can contact me? and select Friends of Friends from the drop down menu:

who can send you friend requests

This will hide Add friend button and Send him/her a friend request link present in your profile for ALL people:

add friend

Only those people who are present in the friend list of one of your friend will be able to send you a friend request, as Add friend button will be visible to them only.

Now whenever someone sends you a friend request, Facebook will show you total number of mutual friends between you and that person, and if you don’t know who that person is, then you can ask one of your mutual friend about him/her!

Bonus Tip: Once you have disabled friend request buttons and link from your profile page, strangers and stalkers can still bother you via Facebook messages:

facebook message button

To overcome this problem click on Privacy shortcuts icon present at the top right corner of your Home/profile page and then click on Who can contact me?:

strict filtering

Under Who can contact me? select Strict Filtering, so that the messaging button gets disabled for all those people who are not in your friend list. The Messaging button will only be visible to your friends and may be some of their friends. Also messages from people who are not in your friend list will go to the Other folder instead of the Inbox:

other folder

In this way you can filter messages from unknown people.